Horgan-Kobelski and Gibson win Bell Enduro Cup at Sundance Resort


Horgan-Kobelski and Irmiger Crowned Overall Series Champions

SUNDANCE, UTAH (August 19, 2013) — The third and final stop of the Bell Enduro Cup took place Sunday, August 18 under the majestic backdrop of Mount Timpanogos at Sundance Resort in Utah. The course featured a wide variety of trails, from old-school kamikaze fire roads to off-camber rooty sections to flowy trails slaloming through the pines. The race demanded riders have the fitness to rip through the pedally sections while maintaining the focus and energy to shred the downhill course on the final timed stage. Riders raced not only to win the Sundance race, but also to take the overall Bell Enduro Cup series title.

Jeremy Horgan-Kobelski took the win at Sundance and the overall Enduro Cup title. Photo: Mike Schirf – EnduroCupMTB.com

In the Open Men’s field, Horgan-Kobelski sailed flawlessly through the four timed stages inching past second place rider Cody Butler by slightly more than two seconds. His final and winning time was 19:57.45. The win also confirmed his overall series ranking and earned him the Bell Enduro Cup Men’s Championship title.

Utah’s Ana Rodriguez finished 3rd in the open women’s category. Photo: Mike Schirf – EnduroCupMTB.com

In the Women’s Open competition, Alisha Gibson and Heather Irmiger were neck and neck throughout the race. At the end of the race, Gibson emerged as the Sundance race winner absolutely crushing the downhill section of the course. Gibson’s total race time was 22:05.03. Irmiger, who has won the last two Bell Enduro Cup race stops, managed the highest women’s rank in the series. Bell Enduro Cup series winners were awarded blown-glass charger plates made in the art studios at Sundance Resort.

“Sundance Resort was the perfect place to finish the inaugural season of the Bell Enduro Cup,” said Event Director Dan Roper. “We have had a spectacular season with excellent athlete participation all summer long. We are already excited for next year.”

Cycling Utah contributor Shannon Boffeli ripping through a rooty section in the trees. Photo: Mike Schirf – EnduroCupMTB.com

Bell Enduro Cup at Sundance Resort was the final stop of the 2013 series. Inspired by its incredible success in 2012, the Wasatch Enduro has been expanded to the new Bell Enduro Cup. The 2013 Bell Enduro Cup featured stops in Moab and at Canyons Resort in addition to Sundance Resort.

Sundance Race Top Results

Open Men

  1. Jeremy Horgan-Kobelski, 19:57.45
  2. Cody Butler, 19:59.90
  3. TJ Cowern, 20:11.58

Open Women

  1. Alisha Gibson, 22:05.03
  2. Heather Irmiger, 22:09.82
  3. Ana Rodriguez, 23:51.65

AM Men 19-29

  1. Vinny Mauro, 21:47.02
  2. Adam LaVigne, 22:01.24
  3. Kyle Wehmanen, 22:15.98

AM Men 30-39

  1. Ryan Stenson, 20:46.82
  2. Kris Baughman, 21:02.11
  3. Ben Craner, 21:07.97

AM Men 40+

  1. Dave Beeson, 21:42.15
  2. Craig Skinner, 22:39.58
  3. Chris Bingham, 22:57.68

Junior Men

  1. Demetri Triantafillou, 20:50.63
  2. Evan DeGray, 22:16.12
  3. Joshuah Anderson, 22:40.31

AM Women

  1. Erika Powers, 24:52.05
  2. Emma Maaranen, 26:59.35
  3. enn Berg, 27:10.40

Bell Enduro Cup Overall Series Winners

  • Open Men, Jeremy Horgan-Kobelski
  • Open Women, Heather Irmiger
  • Amateur Men 19-29, Steve Goodman
  • Amateur Men 30-39, Joe Hanrahan
  • Amateur Men 40+, David Beeson
  • Junior Men, Joshua Anderson
  • Amateur Women, Erika Powers



(Visited 183 times, 1 visits today)


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here