DNA Pro Cycling Team to Hang Up Their Wheels After 2024 Season Ends


SALT LAKE CITY, Utah (July 3, 2024) – The 2024 season will mark the end of the US-based UCI Continental Women’s Team, DNA Pro Cycling. The team, completing its 12th year as a professional women’s squad, has mentored over 70 riders and produced numerous Elite and U23 national champions. Notable champions include British national time trial champion Claire Rose (2017), Colombian national road and time trial champion Diana Peñuela (2022-2024), Mexican national time trial champion Anet Barrera (2022), and Canadian national road and criterium champion Maggie Coles-Lyster (2022).

Photo by Pat Daly, courtesy DNA Pro Cycling

Many DNA Pro Cycling alumni have advanced to race in Europe for Continental and WorldTour teams. Over the past 12 years, the team has recruited riders from eight countries (USA, Canada, Mexico, Colombia, New Zealand, Great Britain, Germany, and Brazil) and competed in 12 countries across the Americas, Europe, and Oceania.

In 2023, DNA Pro Cycling was the top-ranked UCI women’s continental team in the Americas. Six riders were invited to the 2023 UCI World Championships, representing four countries: Barrera (MEX), Olivia Cummins (USA), Heidi Franz (USA), Peñuela (COL), Shayna Powless (USA), and Sarah Van Dam (CAN). Additionally, four riders—current team members Van Dam (CAN) and Cummins (USA), along with former members Maggie Coles-Lyster (CAN) and Nicole Shields (NZL)—will be competing on the track at the Paris 2024 Olympics.

“I am immensely proud of what we have accomplished over the last 12 years. We have always strived to give riders the best support and opportunities to achieve their goals and grow as bike racers. This team has far exceeded our original goals and expectations,” said Catherine Fegan-Kim, team principal and co-owner.

Team principalsa Lee Whaley added, “It was an awesome decision to merge my domestic team (Visit Dallas) with DNA Cycling eight years ago. The collaboration allowed us to elevate to a premier UCI continental team and has created numerous opportunities for our riders.”

The decision to retire the program was made due to the growing demands on time and resources necessary to run an international UCI team based in North America. However, Fegan-Kim noted, “We’ll remain involved in professional women’s cycling in some capacity, supporting riders, teams, or events. This will enable us to better focus our support for the women’s side of the sport.”

This year’s 16-rider squad is the strongest yet, achieving numerous wins and podiums racing in Europe and the US. The team has a full calendar for the remainder of the 2024 season. “We will keep going full gas through the remainder of the season with road racing in Colombia, France, and Canada and criteriums in the US such as those on the American Criterium Cup. While we work to have a strong finish, our focus will be to help all riders and staff find a home in 2025,” said co-owner Alex Kim.

Current Roster

  • Anet Barrera (MEX)
  • Holly Breck (USA)
  • Olivia Cummins (USA)
  • Maeghan Easler (USA)
  • Heather Fischer (USA)
  • Nadia Gontova (CAN)
  • Rachel Langdon (GBR)
  • Kimberly Lucie (USA)
  • Makayla Macpherson (USA)
  • Harriet Owen (GBR)
  • Rylee McMullen (NZL)
  • Diana Peñuela (COL)
  • Sara Poidevin (CAN)
  • Shayna Powless (USA)
  • Kaitlyn Rauwerda (CAN)
  • Sarah Van Dam (CAN)
(Visited 298 times, 1 visits today)