USA Cycling Collegiate Road National Championships coming to Ogden in 2012 and 2013


Colorado Springs, Colo. (August 26, 2011) — USA Cycling has awarded the 2012 and 2013 Collegiate Road National Championships to Ogden, Utah.

The events, to be held May 4-6, 2012 and May 3-5, 2013, will utilize a modified version of stage 1 the 2011 Larry H. Miller Tour of Utah for the road race. Riders will climb North Ogden Pass and circle Pineview Reservoir. The team time trial, a mainstay event of collegiate cycling, will take place on a scenic course with expansive views of the Wasatch Mountain Range while the criterium will start on 25th Street in front of the Ogden Amphitheater and follow a ‘T’ shaped course through Ogden’s vibrant downtown district.

The Weber State University cycling team will be assisting the city of Ogden and the Ogden/Weber Convention and Visitors Bureau (OWCVB) in hosting the event.

“We are thrilled to host the Collegiate Road National Championships in Ogden,” Mayor Matthew Godfrey said. “This is a perfect complement to our mission of being the outdoor recreation capital and will bring significant economic development to town along with some of the best collegiate cyclists in the world.”

The two-year agreement between USA Cycling, the sport’s national governing body, and the OWCVB is expected to bring nearly 500 competitors from over 100 schools spanning the entire country.

One of the country’s premier event organizers, Breakaway Promotions will be overseeing the logistics and execution of the race. Breakaway Promotions has already had an impact in the area running the Larry H Miller Tour of Utah in 2008-2010 as well as several national championships both on and off road.

“We are very excited to partner with USA Cycling to host the Collegiate Road National Championships in Ogden,” said Sara Toliver, President and CEO of OWCVB. “To showcase our scenic courses and incredible community support to these athletes is a fantastic opportunity.”

The 2010 USA Cycling Collegiate Road National Championships in Madison, Wisconsin, consisted of over 350 competitors from 101 schools around the country.

(Visited 84 times, 1 visits today)


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here